Personal Brand

Seeing as how this is an outdoorsy type blog I will try and relate this blog to my topic.

If you haven’t heard of Gary Vaynerchuk then you are sincerely missing out! He is this great entrepreneur and inspirational speaker. There are so many videos of him telling you how to do what you do better, essentially. I know we’re all born to think that we were meant to do something special, but he was truely born with the gifts of motivation and determination.

I love National Geographic! If I could work for them as a videographer, or really in any way, I would be the happiest person on the planet. This is how I’m going to tie together my class work and my love of the outdoors. So, working for National Geographic is very competitive, obviously. For any outdoors enthusiest it would be the chance of a  lifetime to work for the company that shows you the world in a way that almost no one gets the chance to experience first-hand.

DSCF0063

So how do these come together? Well, if I want to appeal to National Geographic then I’ve got to build my personal brand, and show them that I’m the right person for the job. Gary Vaynerchuk states that “legacy is greater than currency,” and by that he means to “always keep in mind the big picture.” Don’t try and do something for the money, do it simply for the love of doing it and for being the best at what you do. If I do something that I think will appeal to my future emplyers then I will post it and make it known. I’m proving my personal brand, it’s a long-term goal and I plan to be constanly working on it.

Extreme Makeover: Home Edition

My friend’s house got an extremely needed makeover, and we helped!

I do a lot of volunteer work and I try to salvage every single learning experience that I can. I want to learn how to do everything that has to do with electronic media, and I want to apply it to what I love to do. I don’t want anything to feel like a chore, because than it’s not going to be my best work.

Right now I think my personal brand is just a normal student about to graduate college and wanting to find a job.

I would like it to be perceived that I would be a wonderful asset to any company. I would like it to be known that I am a hard worker, I love to have fun and I’d love to be great at whatever I do. Giving back to the community is a big deal to me and the people of the world are people that should inspire each and every one of us.

3 things I could do better: 1. Get started right now! I’m a “roll with it” kind of person and I need to be more of a “Just do it” kind of person; 2. I don’t ask enough questions, I need to dig deeper into my Mass Communications environment; 3. I’m scared to fail. This ties in with the “just do it” attitude that I need, everyone fails and I’m failing by not putting myself out there and making my mistakes while I’m in college. I need to learn now rather than later.

Leave a comment